We exist to improve the lives
of everyone affected by epilepsy

Council of Management meeting - February 2006

7 February 2006

The Council of Management met on Tuesday 7 February 2006 at which time Members received and discussed reports from each of its committees – Corporate Governance, Education, Finance & Strategic Policy, Standing Committee and Research. Council also received and discussed reports on finance and the Association’s investments.

Council approved a research grant of £50,000 to go to Professor Ann Lewis at the University of Birmingham for a study into the perception of epilepsy by children with and without epilepsy in mainstream education.

Council voted to recognise the Stoke-on-Trent branch of Epilepsy Action as the ‘Branch of the Year’ for 2005. Sutton and North Down & Ards branches were both highly commended. Bristol PACE, West Cumbria and Norwich were also nominated for the award.

The following people were all voted to receive branch member of the year awards in recognition of their work during 2005: - Sheila Unitt, Warwick & District; Fred Keeler, Ashford; Mary Casey, Barnet; Dee Polacarz, Haverfordwest; Louise Webster, West Cumbria; Stasia Byrne, Newry and Roger Stimson, Peterborough

Alec Aspinall, a former Chief Executive of British Epilepsy Association and a Vice President of the Epilepsy Research Foundation was voted to receive our highest honour, the Lord Hastings Award, for his outstanding contribution to the improvement of the lives of people with epilepsy.

Council agreed to recommend to the members of the Association at the AGM in June that Bentley Jennison be re-appointed as auditors.

There are no comments yet. Be the first to comment...

Contact Author

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.