We exist to improve the lives
of everyone affected by epilepsy

Council of Management meeting - December 2006

12 December 2006

The Council of Management held its last meeting of the year on Tuesday 12 December 2006 at which time Members received and discussed reports from each of its committees – Corporate Governance, Education, Finance & Strategic Policy, Standing Committee and Research. Council also received and discussed reports on finance and the Association’s investments; the Joint Epilepsy Council and healthcare policy.

Council considered and approved estimates for the 2007 revenue budget and the 2007 business plan, setting out the range of work activities and priorities planned for next year. Council also approved a new strategic plan for Epilepsy Action which will run from 2007 to 2011. This plan outlines the Association’s Vision, Mission, Aims and Values for the next five years.

Council approved the award of 3 postgraduate research bursaries, worth £1,500 each, to Rebecca Entwistle (University of Liverpool); Donna Durkin (University of Newcastle) and Ian Brown (University of Sheffield). Council also approved the award of the Epilepsy Action Research Prize for 2006 worth £1,000 to Joanne Taylor of the University of Liverpool.

Council reviewed the membership of the Association’s Clinical Advisory Panel and decided to increase the number Panel members from 15 to 22. Invitations to people to serve on the Panel will be issued soon. Council also formally established a new Women’s Advisory Panel. The members of this new Panel will be decided by Council at is next meeting in February 2007. 

There are no comments yet. Be the first to comment...

Contact Author

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.