We exist to improve the lives
of everyone affected by epilepsy

Council of Management meeting - February 2008

5 February 2008

The Council of Management met on 5 February. Members received and discussed update reports from each of Council’s committees – Corporate Governance, Education, Finance & Strategic Policy, Standing Committee and Research. The following decisions were made.

Former Chair of Council, Ron Radley, was invited to become a member of the Association’s Education Advisory Panel.

Michele Harper was elected to fill the casual vacancy on the Research Committee caused by the resignation in December from Council of Professor Gus Baker.

Council agreed to recognise the Norwich branch as the Epilepsy Action ‘Branch of the Year’ for 2007. The nomination of the West London branch was also highly commended. The following people were all awarded ‘Branch Member of the Year’ Awards – Elizabeth Duffy (Warwick & District), Gillian Ann Lee (Stamford), Margaret O’Donnell (Armagh), Stewart Naylor (Huddersfield), Beryl Sharlot (West Midlands Forum), Keith Skivington (Llanelli), Bill Tite (Ashford) and David Varney (Derby).

Council approved the following new equal opportunities policy for the Association: “It is Epilepsy Action’s policy to treat all members, volunteers, service users, job applicants, employees and others who come into contact with or work with Epilepsy Action fairly and equally, regardless of their age or perceived age, civil partnership status, colour, disability, ethnic origin, marital status, nationality, national origins, race, religion or belief, sex, sexual orientation or, trans-gender status.”

Professor Raymond Tallis was appointed as a Vice President of the Association to serve a three year term from 14 June 2008 subject to the approval of the members at the AGM. Council also agreed to recommend to the AGM that RSM Bentley Jennison should be re-appointed as the Association’s auditors. Council further agreed to submit a resolution to the AGM to amend the Association’s Articles of Association to allow it to supply the Annual Report to Association members in electronic format as well as in the traditional hard printed copy.

Baroness Gould of Potternewton is due to complete her final term of office as President of the Association in June 2008. To mark her departure and in recognition of her efforts on behalf of the Association, the Council resolved to confer upon her the title of Honorary Past President and also to award her Honorary Life membership of the Association.

There are no comments yet. Be the first to comment...

Contact Author

Epilepsy Action changes lives – thanks to people like you.

We would like to keep you up to date about our work and need your permission to do so.

What would you like to hear about?

How would you like to hear from us?

Please tick one or more options

The details you provide will only be used by Epilepsy Action and its trading company (or those working on our behalf). Epilepsy Action will never swap, share or sell your details.

For more information about how we use and protect your data visit epilepsy.org.uk/privacy

To update your preferences, please contact our supporter care team on 0113 210 8800 or visit epilepsy.org.uk/contact

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.