We exist to improve the lives
of everyone affected by epilepsy

Council of Management meeting - July 2009

The Council of Management met on Tuesday 14 July. Two new members of Council elected at the AGM in June, Jayne Cage and John Bostock, were warmly welcomed. The meeting began with the election of new Officers for the next twelve months. Richard Chapman was elected as Chair of Council, June Massey was elected as vice-Chair of Council and Beryl Sharlot was elected as Honorary Treasurer. All three were elected unanimously.

Richard Chapman immediately paid tribute to Mike Harnor, the outgoing Chair, and thanked him for his leadership of Council over the past three years.

Members considered the charity’s financial position and were pleased to note that more than £1 million of legacy income has been received so far this year. Sustained income all round, coupled with well controlled expenditure, means that the charity is making progress despite the difficult economic conditions.

Members received and considered reports on television advertising, service development ideas, BEA Trading Limited, the 2009 national conference and preparations for the diamond jubilee. The vice-Chair’s report on Council appraisal was also received and Council charged the Corporate Governance committee and the Standing committee to work together to produce an action plan as a consequence.

Council set its meeting dates for 2010 and also decided to hold the 2010 Annual General Meeting at a venue in Leeds in June. On this occasion it was decided not to include the AGM within the framework of the national conference. In 2010 the national conference is expected to be a larger scale event and one of the focal points of the diamond jubilee year.

Following a thorough review by the Finance and Strategic Policy committee, a new investment policy was presented to Council and approved and adopted. The new policy has a clear focus on investing to help support revenue income.

Finally Council elected the members of its various committees for the next twelve months. Committee membership was decided as follows:

Corporate Governance Committee  

Education Committee

  • Richard Chapman ex officio
  • John Bostock
  • Michele Harper
  • Beryl Sharlot
  • John Bostock
  • Jayne Cage
  • Michele Harper
  • June Massey
  • Beryl Sharlot
  • Keith Skivington
Finance & Strategic Policy CommitteeResearch Committee 
  • Richard Chapman ex officio
  • June Massey ex officio
  • Beryl Sharlot ex officio
  • Hilary Figg
  • Mike Harnor
  • Michele Harper 
  • John Bostock
  • Susan Duncan
  • Mike Harnor
  • Michele Harper
  • Markus Reuber
  • Keith Skivington

The next meeting of the Council of Management will be on Tuesday 6 October 2009.

The Council of Management is the governing body of the charity British Epilepsy Association. Any member who might be interested in serving on the Council is invited to contact the Chief Executive at the Association’s head office.

There are no comments yet. Be the first to comment...

Contact Author

Epilepsy Action changes lives – thanks to people like you.

We would like to keep you up to date about our work and need your permission to do so.

What would you like to hear about?

How would you like to hear from us?

Please tick one or more options

The details you provide will only be used by Epilepsy Action and its trading company (or those working on our behalf). Epilepsy Action will never swap, share or sell your details.

For more information about how we use and protect your data visit epilepsy.org.uk/privacy

To update your preferences, please contact our supporter care team on 0113 210 8800 or visit epilepsy.org.uk/contact

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.