We exist to improve the lives
of everyone affected by epilepsy


Council of Management meeting - December 2016

The Council of Management met on 6 December. The big item of business was to approve a revenue budget and business plan for 2017. These plans identify the work priorities for the next 12 months, outline the main activities that will take place and allocate resources to them. Council members considered all of this in the context of the charity’s new strategic plan which starts at the beginning of next year.

Sixteen volunteer awards and the branch of the year award were approved for 2017. Members were struck by the inspiring commitment shown by so many people and their fantastic achievements supporting the charity.

A pilot project was approved to establish a question and answer section on the charity’s website for members of the public to ask questions of the Council of Management about matters of governance and policy.

The charity has a Memorandum of Understanding with Epilepsy Society designed to facilitate co-operative working. This understanding was reaffirmed.

The following people were re-appointed as vice Presidents of the charity – Ms Karen Armstrong, Dr Evan Harris, Professor Ray Tallis, Paul Maynard MP and Lord Smith of Leigh.

The following Council members were deemed to be the longest in office and therefore due to retire at the date of the next AGM in 2017. They are: Gavin Barlow, Carl Graham, Mike Harnor, Jane Riley and Beryl Sharlot.

The Council delegates some of its authority to the Chief Executive, the Officers and to Council Committees. Every year all the delegated authorities are reviewed to ensure they are still appropriate and that they have been properly managed. The annual review was completed by Council in December and the delegations were confirmed for a further year.

Council completed the 12 month evaluation and review of each of its advisory panels and decided not to renew its Education panel because this had not been used for more than two years. The other four panels – Scientific awards, health and clinical, research and women – were all renewed. Council also reviewed and renewed the National Advisory Councils for Wales and Northern Ireland for a further 12 months. In addition, it appointed LeeAnn Taggart as a new member of the NAC Northern Ireland and it appointed Dr Stephen Hunt as the new Chair in succession to Dr Jim Morrow who has stepped down.

The next meeting of the Council is scheduled to take place on 7 February 2017.

Event Date: 
Wednesday 29 April 2015 - 11:54

There are no comments yet. Be the first to comment...

e-action newsletter

Subscribe to our e-action newsletter and stay informed

Subscribe to e-action newsletter feed