We exist to improve the lives
of everyone affected by epilepsy


Who’s who in research at Epilepsy Action?

Scientific Awards Panel (SAP)

The Scientific Awards Panel (SAP) is an independent group of academic and clinical professionals with specific expertise. Two lay (someone not working professionally in a clinical, healthcare or epilepsy research environment) members also sit on the panel. The lay members have epilepsy themselves or have a personal connection to someone with the condition. SAP assesses applications for research funding. They then recommend to Council of Management and Research Committee which projects should receive funding.

The Research Advisory Panel (RAP)

The Research Advisory Panel offers advice and guidance on specific epilepsy research matters.

Epilepsy Action Research Network (EARN)

Members of the EARN are people with epilepsy or friends and family members of someone with the condition. EARN’s main role is to review research funding applications and tell us how important and relevant the proposed research is to people with epilepsy. They often comment on other research related matters and can be consulted by external researchers.

Epilepsy Action staff

The epilepsy services manager, Angie Pullen, has responsibility for research. She is supported by Amanda Stoneman, Research and evaluation officer.

Epilepsy Action Scientific Awards Panel

Emily Holmes, Health economist, Bangor University
Andrew Trevelyan, Senior Lecturer in Network Neuroscience, Newcastle University
Melissa Maguire, Consultant Neurologist, Leeds General Infirmary
Leone Ridsdale, Professor of Neurology and General Practice, Kings College London
Linda Mayhew, Epilepsy Action Research Volunteer
Stephanie Kilinc, Senior Lecturer in Psychology, Teeside University
Fiona MacKinnon, Lecturer in Adult Nursing, The University of Edinburgh
Michael Johnson, Professor of Neurology and Genomic Medicine, Imperial College London
Helen McEwan, Lecturer in health psychology, Birmingham University
Khalid Hamandi, Consultant Neurologist, University Hospital of Wales
Catrin Tudur-Smith, Professor of Biostatistics, University of Liverpool
Dr Rajiv Mohanraj, Consultant neurologist, Salford Royal NHS Foundation Trust

Epilepsy Action Research Advisory Panel

Dr Dougall McCorry, Consultant Neurologist, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Birmingham
Dr Adina Lew, Senior Lecturer in Psychology, Lancaster University
Dr Sarah Collard, Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Bournemouth University
Prof Sanjay Sisodiya, Professor of Neurology/Honorary Consultant Neurologist, The National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery, London
Rohit Shankar, Consultant in Adult Developmental Neuropsychiatry and Hon. Associate Clinical professor (Exeter Medical School)
Helen Coyle, Epilepsy Nurse Specialist, Centre for Clinical Neurosciences, Salford
Dr Howard Ring, University Lecturer, Cambridge University
Prof Deb Pal, Professor of Paediatric Epilepsy, King's College, London

There are no comments yet. Be the first to comment...

e-action newsletter

Subscribe to our e-action newsletter and stay informed

Subscribe to e-action newsletter feed